All Massachusetts Electrical Licenses expire on July 31, 2019.
If you have not completed the 21 hours of education required for license renewal –
If you completed your required 15 hours at the JATC, we have submitted the 15 hours to the Board of State Examiners of Electricians on your behalf. You do not need paper certificates to renew for Massachusetts however, there are directions below on how to obtain them.
The required 6 hours is submitted only on an audit basis – meaning if you are selected for an audit after the cycle ends, you will be required to submit proof of your 6 hours of Professional Development to the Board of State Examiners of Electricians.
Certificates for all courses completed at the JATC are available by logging into your account and following these steps;
- Click Here to log in to your account
- Click the CEU Training tab
- Click the “Print Certificate” button
237 CMR 17.00: Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE)
17.01: Requirements for Licensees
(1) Continuing Education Requirement.
(a) Except as otherwise provided in 237 CMR 17.01, each licensee of the Board, as a condition for license renewal, shall present evidence satisfactory to the Board that, in the three-year period before license renewal, he or she has completed 21 clock hours of continuing education.
(b)Of the required 21 clock hours, 15 clock hours shall be on topics related to the Massachusetts Electrical Code, business, law, and related topics with a Provider in an area of study approved by the Board. Courses offered for Master Electricians and Journeyman Electricians shall focus on 527 CMR 12.00, the Massachusetts Electrical Code, and other laws and regulations as they pertain to Electrical Work. Courses for Systems Contractors and Systems Technicians shall focus on the applicable chapters of 527 CMR 12.00, the Massachusetts Electrical Code, the adopted version of NFPA 72, and other laws and regulations as they pertain to Systems Work. The Board may require specific content to be contained in any approved courses. It shall be the licensee’s responsibility to ensure that their Provider has been approved by the Board.
(c) Of the required 21 clock hours, six clock hours shall be in areas chosen by the licensee for professional development in the subjects of Electrical Code, business, law, first aid, safety, Building Code, and related topics. Said instruction need not be offered by a Board approved Provider.